It’s Almost Here – National Cookbook Month !

CLICK ABOVE TO PLAY MUSIC

Music – “Happy Cooking” from Happy Cooking by Eiji Kitamura. Released: 1986

(partial re-posting of September 30, 2018)

 For those not in the know, October features many “national” events,  however, my favourite October event is:

National Cookbook Month !

Pick one up and read it today!

                                                 What’s on YOUR cookbook shelf?

Cookbook collecting has even rubbed off on my cats! (Photo of Tux by Sue Jimenez)

Tux and Shadow picking a recipe for dinner (Photo by Sue Jimenez)

“Cooking with Poo” (Photo Credit: http://www.lolriot.com) (Not on my cookbook shelf, yet!)

I hope your cookbook shelf doesn’t look like this! (Photo Credit: http://www.bobvila.com)

“Alright. Time to browse “Joy of Cooking”. I wonder how this thing is CATegorized?” (Photo of Shadow by Sue Jimenez)

 

Some of the other cookbooks in my collection….


Why is it that the cookbook you want the most is always out of reach? (Photo Credit by the author of the author)

“Cooking with two fat ladies”

“The Dead Celebrity Cookbook” (Photo Credit: http://www.abebooks.com)

“You’ve Had Worse Things in Your Mouth”, by Billi Gordon.  Not on my shelf yet!  (Photo Credit: http://www.pinterest.com)

Some of the books in my collection for cooking hot and spicy

One of many wartime canning guides.

“The Gaza Kitchen: A Palestinian Culinary Journey””

Some of the “leftover” cookbooks in my collection.

“141 and One-Half Chinese Style Chicken Recipes” by Lonnie Mock, in my collection. I’m still looking for the 1/2 recipe.

“The Great Hall” of cookbooks in my residence.

“Blondie’s Cook Book”, published in 1947 (Photo by Sue Jimenez)

There’s a cookbook for everyone! “The Axis of Evil Cookbook” by Gill Partington


My EatYourBooks cookbook collection

About vintagecookbookery

Cookbook lover and collector with a burgeoning collection of cookbooks. Reading and researching food trends, history of cooking techniques and technological advances in cooking, what we eat and why and cookbooks as reflectors of cultures is a fascination for me. As of November 7th, 2013, I hold the current Guinness World Record title for the largest collection of cookbooks: 2,970 at the official count on July 14th, 2013 (applaud now, thank you very much!) The current (unofficial) number is now 6,500. What next? More shelves?
This entry was posted in Cats, Collecting, Collections, Cookbooks, Cooking, Guinness World Records, New Mexico, Uncategorized, Vintage Cookbooks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment