Food Folly Fotos Part 2

On October 20th, I published “Food Folly Fotos” and here is Part 2 for your amusement and delight.

In my cookbook library, I have many ‘vintage’ cookbooks, advertiser’s recipe booklets and such. Part of the fun is leafing through the pages, particularly from the 1950’s and 1960’s. Sometimes it’s hard to tell what the cookbook authors were thinking, when you look at the photos and illustrations accompanying the recipes.

I have put together what I call “Food Folly Fotos” with my own tongue-in-cheek captions. After looking at a few of them, you’ll be tempted to come up with your own caption and please do submit them in your comments! Most of them just beg for a remark of some sort. Have fun with Part 2!

"Yes, dear, we're having your favourite tonight...Bowwow Bean Bake" "Great!  By the way, honey, I can't find Spot.  Did you let him outside?"

“Yes, dear, we’re having your favourite tonight…Bowwow Bean Bake”
“Great! By the way, honey, I can’t find Spot. Did you let him outside?”

"Darn...here I am, all dressed up and nowhere to go" ".......arrggh...move your butt!"

“Darn…here I am, all dressed up and nowhere to go”
“…….arrggh…move your butt!”

"I don't know what it is, but if I were you, I'd just keep swimming as fast as I could"

“I don’t know what it is, but if I were you, I’d just keep swimming as fast as I could”

"Mom...what's for dinner tonight?" "We're having Frankentower.  You like Frankentower, don't you dear?  And, if you clean your plate, Daddy will tell you a bedtime story about what's in the Frankentower.  You'd like that, wouldn't you dear?" "Will I have nightmares, Mom?"

“Mom…what’s for dinner tonight?”
“We’re having Frankentower. You like Frankentower, don’t you dear? And, if you clean your plate, Daddy will tell you a bedtime story about what’s in the Frankentower. You’d like that, wouldn’t you dear?”
“Will I have nightmares, Mom?”

"Well, it was like this.  I was just bob-bob-bobbin' along, minding my own business and I heard this 'plop'.  Beats the heck out of me.  Check with the seagulls"

“Well, it was like this. I was just bob-bob-bobbin’ along, minding my own business and I heard this ‘plop’. Beats the heck out of me. Check with the seagulls”


OK, so it's cooked and nicely adorned with citrus slices and laying resplendent on a white porcelain plate, with a hand-made doily underneath, but when you come right down to it, it's still just a big, dead fish (and an ugly one, at that)

OK, so it’s cooked and nicely adorned with citrus slices and laying resplendent on a white porcelain plate, with a hand-made doily underneath, but when you come right down to it, it’s still just a big, dead fish (and an ugly one, at that)

Stay tuned for Part 3 of “Food Folly Fotos!”

About vintagecookbookery

Cookbook lover and collector with a burgeoning collection of cookbooks. Reading and researching food trends, history of cooking techniques and technological advances in cooking, what we eat and why and cookbooks as reflectors of cultures is a fascination for me. As of November 7th, 2013, I hold the current Guinness World Record title for the largest collection of cookbooks: 2,970 at the official count on July 14th, 2013 (applaud now, thank you very much!) The current (unofficial) number is now 6,500. What next? More shelves?
This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Cooking, Cooking and Social History, Eating, Food Trends, Vintage Cookbooks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment