Why do we collect cookbooks? 6,567 and Counting!

Music – “What’s Cooking” from What’s Cooking by The Wolfe Gang. Released: 2010

CLICK ABOVE TO PLAY MUSIC

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

liebster4

“The Vintage Cookbookery” website is up and a work in progress! Please visit it at http://www.vintagecookbookery.com. I will be posting a series of articles about cookbooks as time capsules, why we collect them, and how they reflect cultures, trends, technology and food history. Please join in and add your comments! On October 23rd, 2015, I  surpassed the 5,000 mark.  What’s left?  Just keep collecting! (As of January, 2019, the collection has grown to 6,533)


My EatYourBooks cookbook collection

From Cindy Renfrow’s “Take a Thousand Eggs”, to Gil Partington’s “The Punk Vegan Cookbook”, cookbooks run the gamut and are packed with social history. Forget ‘Social Studies”….just read cookbooks if you really want some history!

For more about the collection, click on this link to a May 24th, 2018 interview with Sho Spaeth of http://www.seriouseats.com:

https://www.seriouseats.com/2018/05/obsessed-the-worlds-largest-cookbook-collection.html

2013 Guinness World Record title for Largest Collection of Cookbooks

2013 Guinness World Record title for Largest Collection of Cookbooks

About vintagecookbookery

Cookbook lover and collector with a burgeoning collection of cookbooks. Reading and researching food trends, history of cooking techniques and technological advances in cooking, what we eat and why and cookbooks as reflectors of cultures is a fascination for me. As of November 7th, 2013, I hold the current Guinness World Record title for the largest collection of cookbooks: 2,970 at the official count on July 14th, 2013 (applaud now, thank you very much!) The current (unofficial) number is now 6,500. What next? More shelves?
This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Cooking, Cooking and Social History, Cooking Technology, Eating, Food Fads, Food Trends, Menu Planning, Recipes, Vintage Cookbooks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Why do we collect cookbooks? 6,567 and Counting!

  1. Thank you Madeleine….I appreciate your comments and hope that you keep on reading!

  2. Madeleine says:

    You need to be a part of a contest for one of the finest websites
    online. I most certainly will highly recommend this blog! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gran_Canaria/074/5

  3. marymtf says:

    What a fabulouse collection. I can imagine your dipping into those 3,742 books now and again to try out a recipe and they must make good reading, but do you really find time to use them all?

  4. It’s actually a great and helpful piece of info. I am satisfied that you just shared this useful information with us.

    Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Absolutely love the replies…I really think that wine SHOULD be considered food – after all, many people think beer is a food. You know, in many of your random facts and the answers to the questions, you could be me! Congratulations on the award!

  6. First of all, I would like to thank Transplanted Cook for nominating me for a Liebster Award. Below are her questions and my responses:

    1. If you could invite any cookbook author to dine with you, who would you choose? (Don’t restrict yourself to live authors if you wish to invite someone from the past)

    This is tough, but I would have to invite Amelia Simmons, who authored ‘The First American Cookbook’ in 1796. I’m fascinated with food history, trends, fads, and the evolution of cultures around food. I think it would be neat to hear her experiences in ‘the Colonies’ during that time period.

    2. What are three things most commonly found in your refrigerator?

    Wine, butter, salsa

    3. You’ve been invited to travel to a destination of your choice on an all expenses paid culinary tour. Where would you choose?

    Russia, including Ukraine, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan. I have multiple cookbooks from these regions and there is so much diversity in this huge country. I would love to see the country, the people, eat the food.

    4. You need to stir the sauce in the pot, which spoon do you reach for – wooden or silicone?

    Wood, most definitely. I don’t like the silicone spoons at all.

    5. If you could have a dish named after you, what would it be?

    “Commingled Soup a’ la Jimenez” (made on ‘clean the freezer’ day)

    6. What music (if any) would you play in the background for a romantic dinner?

    Something by Bruckner.

    7. What three essential things would you pack for a picnic?

    Wine, corkscrew, cheese (in that order)

    8. What is the one food you could never give up?

    Cheese and wine (but I don’t know that wine is considered a food)

    9. What is the best smelling thing you have eaten?

    Chicken and olives with preserved lemons.

    10. What is your idea of a perfect day out?

    Coffee in the morning, a drive to Santa Fe to shop at The Spanish Table, Oleaceae, The Spice Lady and several other culinary shops, a leisurely lunch at La Fonda Hotel in Santa Fe, driving back to Albuquerque and cooking a dinner based on a pre-selected salt from my collection.

    11.

    My Dad made a mean Beef Stroganoff and Caesar Salad and my Mom made awesome bread pudding.

    11 Random facts about me:

    1. I’m a Forensic Anthropologist
    2. I moved to Albuquerque from Toronto in 1994 (a guy had something to do with it)
    3. I just garnered the Guinness World Records title for world’s largest collection of cookbooks
    4. People still tell me I say ‘ooot’ and ‘aboot’
    5. I did a fair bit of travelling around before the world became a more dangerous place
    6. I don’t read fiction….I read cookbooks
    7. I’ve only had durian once in my life. That was more than enough, thank you very much
    8. I love kitchen gadgets….can’t get enough of them
    9. I really do use my 3,742 cookbooks
    10. I collect and use salts from around the world, sometimes selecting a salt, finding a cookbook from the same country and plan the meal around it. A lot of fun!
    11. Everything is edible if it’s chopped finely enough

  7. I’ve just posted my questions on a new post. Have fun!

  8. Thanks so much. I found the list of official rules for the Liebster Award. I guess you will be asking me some questions, correct? Fire away!

  9. I must have typed it in wrong. Just did another google search and came up with:
    http://lorrainemariereguly.wordpress.com/2013/05/02/the-liebster-award-the-official-rules-my-first-blog-award-and-a-few-personal-secrets-revealed/
    Will correct the link! Thanks. I really like you blog – imagine a blog on the thing you love: Cookbooks!

  10. Thank you for the nomination! I did go to your blog and clicked on the Liebster Blog Award box, however, I was taken to a dead link. Is there some other link, which will give me all of the instructions? Thanks again!

  11. I just love your blog and that’s why I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. I hope you choose to accept it. For more information, see my post on Awards: http://wp.me/p3Uj0i-Q7

  12. Kate says:

    I can’t wait to read about your cookbooks. I LOVE them too. Thanks for visiting my website too.

  13. Stephane….I’m not sure I have either! My husband says, ‘how come you have all of these cookbooks and we’re always eating the same thing?’. Actually, he doesn’t say that, but it sounds valid!

  14. Stephane says:

    3380! I don’t think I tried as many recipes in my life!

Leave a comment