Spouse needs One (1) Thrift Store Bargain copy of “Les Diners de Gala” Urgent!

CLICK ABOVE TO PLAY MUSIC

Music – “Too Many Books! (Live)” from The Stories in My Mind: The Songs of Dennis Livingston (Live at the Metropolitan Room) by Dennis Livingston. Released: 2013

As any readers following my blog know, my cookbook collection has taken on a life of its’ own (it did so some time ago, actually), even forcing my spouse and I out of our former residence a few months ago, in order to make room for the expanding collection. Now, I find myself a mere 115 cookbooks short of 5,000, with the current tally at 4,885.

Part of the 4,885 collection....another move is NOT an option!

Part of the 4,885 collection….another move is NOT an option!

I told my spouse, when I was nearing the 2,000 mark that I would cease and desist, when I achieved that number of volumes on my shelves. In my previous cookbook collection, when I was selling vintage cookbooks on eBay, I had purchased a large lot of cookbooks from a lady in Oregon. Among the many treasures was a copy of “Les Diners de Gala”, by Salvador Dali.

“Les Diners de Gala”, by Salvador Dali, published in 1973

A few months later, I was able to sell it for $200, unsigned of course. As this was the most expensive cookbook I had ever come across at the time, I assured my spouse that I would quit collecting cookbooks, when I happened upon another copy of the book. (at a thrift store, of course).

After nearing the 2,000 mark, with no cheap copy of “Les Diners de Gala” in sight, naturally, I could only move forward. I was feeling pretty confident about my ability to reach the 3,000 mark.

During the Guinness World Record for the Largest Collection of Cookbooks, on July 14th, 2013, my two recorders counted a total of 2,970 cookbooks. Now, it should be pointed out that I had approximately 250 small “cookbooklets” and cookbooks from appliance manufacturers, mostly from the 1920’s to 1950’s, however, Guinness does not count those as “cookbooks”, and so they were temporarily removed from the collection for counting purposes. After the count, when they were returned to the shelves, the count was now over 3,000 (3,220). You can see where this is going.

Now, here's a really terrific way to shelve books! I may go for this next. (Photo Credit: www.inhabitat.com)

Now, here’s a really terrific way to shelve books! I may go for this next. (Photo Credit: http://www.inhabitat.com)

I told my husband that since I was already over 3,000, I might just as well shoot for 4,000. Still no sign of a thrift store copy of “Les Diners de Gala” and I was feeling pretty smug that I wouldn’t come across such a copy.

“I would roll over in my grave, if a copy of my “Les Diners de Gala” was found in a thrift store!” (Photo Credit (edited): http://www.huffingtonpost.com)

In my November 8th, 2013 post “A Guinness World Record for Cookbooks? Really?” I indicated that the total number of cookbooks in the collection stood at 3,752. Now, although I can’t be exactly sure, sometime at the turn of the 2014 New Year, I surpassed the 4,000 mark and I felt compelled to just keep going, always on the lookout for the bargain version of Salvador Dali’s cookbook, of course.

So, here I am nearing the 5,000 mark, and still no sign of the thrift store deal breaker cookbook. At this point, I believe that my very patient spouse may be searching the Internet for a copy of “Les Diners de Gala”, no matter what the price.   We’ll see. After all, a deal’s a deal.

Ah, if only they were all cookbooks! (Photo Credit: thewriteteachers.com)

Ah, if only they were all cookbooks! (Photo Credit: thewriteteachers.com)


My EatYourBooks cookbook collection

About vintagecookbookery

Cookbook lover and collector with a burgeoning collection of cookbooks. Reading and researching food trends, history of cooking techniques and technological advances in cooking, what we eat and why and cookbooks as reflectors of cultures is a fascination for me. As of November 7th, 2013, I hold the current Guinness World Record title for the largest collection of cookbooks: 2,970 at the official count on July 14th, 2013 (applaud now, thank you very much!) The current (unofficial) number is now 6,235. What next? More shelves?
This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Cooking, Guinness World Records, Uncategorized, Vintage Cookbooks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spouse needs One (1) Thrift Store Bargain copy of “Les Diners de Gala” Urgent!

  1. That is extremely generous and I would be happy to add these items to the collection. However, upon receipt of them, at least I can re-imburse you for the postage. Just make sure I have your mailing address. Thanks so much and I’m glad you enjoyed the post! The 5,000 mark is getting ever closer!

  2. J Goldfeder says:

    The Chicago Daily News Cookbook c.1930 Shuck and Bundesen
    Igleheart’z Cake Secrets c.1924 Igleheart Bros, Evansvill Ind. (32 pages soft cover)
    The Cook’s Book (K C Baking Powder) c1935 Jaques Mfg Co, Chicago (47 pages soft cover)
    Success in Seasoning c1935 Lea & Perrins, Inc .(47 pages soft cover)
    Gurney Cookbook House of Gurney c1929? Missing cover and first 2 pages.

    I would be glad to donate these if they would add to your collection.

Leave a Reply

