Slurp Your Bloody Mary with a Spoon!

CLICK ABOVE TO PLAY MUSIC

Music – “Attack of the Killer Tomatoes”. Released: 2009.

In the heat of summer, there’s nothing better than a cold one, no matter what its constituents…. but preferably something “medicinal” to revive you after a day in the sun (with sunshade on, of course). How about a slightly unconventional Bloody Mary, one you slurp with a spoon? One great solution to the bumper crop of garden tomatoes. If you don’t find novel ways to use them quickly, they get out of hand, so to speak (they even had a campy movie made about them in the late 1970’s!)

In “The Tomato Cookbook” by Christine France, published in 2002, there is a wonderful variety of recipes using the once suspect tomato and one in particular, caught my eye: “Iced Tomato and Vodka Soup”. Why not whip up a batch (it’s fast) and serve it in Margarita Glasses with diced avocado and chive garnishes? Here’s the recipe:

1 pound ripe, well-flavoured tomatoes, halved or roughly chopped (no need to seed) (I used a combination of Roma, cherry and regular tomatoes from my garden)

2 ½ cups jellied beef stock or consommé (I used organic beef broth, room temp as I didn’t have any jellied stock handy)

1 small red onion, halved

2 celery sticks, cut into large pieces

1 garlic clove, roughly chopped

1 tablespoon tomato puree (paste)

2 teaspoons lemon juice (I used freshly squeezed)

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

handful of small fresh basil leaves (from my garden)

2 tablespoons vodka (I used more and it was lemon peel infused!)

salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Put the halved or chopped tomatoes, stock or consommé, onion and celery in a blender or food processor. Add the garlic, and then spoon in the tomato puree. Pulse until all the vegetables are finely chopped and process to a smooth paste. (Note: I used a food processor, which was a mistake, as the quantity was too much and the liquid started to overflow. Next time I’ll use the blender! In addition, I couldn’t achieve a really smooth “paste” as I didn’t start with jellied stock)

Press the mixture through a sieve into a large bowl and discard the contents of the sieve after done. Stir in the lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, basil leaves and vodka. Add salt and pepper to taste. Cover and chill. (Note: I used lemon peel infused vodka, which I had made 4 weeks previously. It gave the soup a bit more lemony tang than just plain vodka)

I served the soup in large Margarita Glasses garnished with diced avocado and freshly chopped chives. The author recommends a celery stick garnish as well as a little crushed ice, which I skipped as it was cold enough and I didn’t need to dilute any further. This makes a great start to a summer meal and serves as a cocktail and soup at the same time!


My EatYourBooks cookbook collection

About vintagecookbookery

Cookbook lover and collector with a burgeoning collection of cookbooks. Reading and researching food trends, history of cooking techniques and technological advances in cooking, what we eat and why and cookbooks as reflectors of cultures is a fascination for me. As of November 7th, 2013, I hold the current Guinness World Record title for the largest collection of cookbooks: 2,970 at the official count on July 14th, 2013 (applaud now, thank you very much!) The current (unofficial) number is now 6,124. What next? More shelves!
This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Cooking, Cooking Technology, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slurp Your Bloody Mary with a Spoon!

  1. Thanks! I love “campy”, “shlocky” movies and have a copy of “Attack of the Killer Tomatoes”. It’s so out there that you just have to laugh and it seemed like the perfect theme song for the soup!

  2. What a great way to slurp your bloody Mary along with the hysterical music! LOL! I am still laughing. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

