Everybody Likes “Joy of Cooking” !

CLICK ABOVE TO PLAY MUSIC

Music – “Catfish For Supper” from Catfish For Supper by Jon Sholle. Released: 2012

New Delhi became the capital of India. The first “Dracula” movie was released and “Alka Seltzer” came on the market. Nevada legalized gambling and The Empire State building opened in New York City. Oh, and Irma Rombauer’s first edition of “Joy of Cooking” was published. Quite a stellar year, 1931.

Many editions and reprints of “Joy of Cooking” have been released over the years. I found a copy of “The Miniature Edition“, published in 1997, which is a 252 page compendium of some of the basic methods and cooking techniques from the original. For those without opposable thumbs, who can’t hold the larger versions, it’s perfect for browsing – just ask Shadow and Tux!

"Alright.  Time to browse "Joy of Cooking".  I wonder how this thing is CATegorized?"

“Alright. Time to browse “Joy of Cooking”. I wonder how this thing is CATegorized?”


"Beef tonight?  No, I fancy something like CATfish"

“Beef tonight? No, I fancy something like CATfish”


"Shadow, does this book have a CAT-a-list of recipes?"

“Shadow, does this book have a CAT-a-list of recipes?”


"Hmmm.  CATchup?  Not so much"

“Hmmm. CATchup? Not so much”


"All of this reading is making me CATatonic.  I'll have to have a CATnap soon!"

“All of this reading is making me CATatonic. I’ll have to have a CATnap soon!”

"Holy CATwalk Shadow!  Did you know that eating fish decreases the liklihood of having a stroke?"

“Holy CATwalk Shadow! Did you know that eating fish decreases the liklihood of having a stroke?”


"Let's see.  I might be able to loCATe a recipe, if you can't, Shadow"

“Let’s see. I might be able to loCATe a recipe, if you can’t, Shadow”


"Eureka!  CATfish.  I'll have to have my people consult the large version for the recipe.  I wouldn't want dinner to be a CATastrophe"

“Eureka! CATfish. I’ll have to have my people consult the large version for the recipe. I wouldn’t want dinner to be a CATastrophe”


"I already suggested the CATfish recipe, Shadow.  CopyCAT!"

“I already suggested the CATfish recipe, Shadow. CopyCAT!”


"Page 78, "Fish". First, CATch the fish.  Got it.  Thanks Irma!"

“Page 78, “Fish”. First, CATch the fish. Got it. Thanks Irma!”


"I don't know about you, Shadow, but my CATgut is full after all of that CATfish!"

“I don’t know about you, Shadow, but my CATgut is full after all of that CATfish!”

About vintagecookbookery

Cookbook lover and collector with a burgeoning collection of cookbooks. Reading and researching food trends, history of cooking techniques and technological advances in cooking, what we eat and why and cookbooks as reflectors of cultures is a fascination for me. As of November 7th, 2013, I hold the current Guinness World Record title for the largest collection of cookbooks: 2,970 at the official count on July 14th, 2013 (applaud now, thank you very much!) The current (unofficial) number is now 5,851. What next? More cookbooks, naturally (small ones !)
This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Cooking, Vintage Cookbooks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

