My New Year’s Resolutions for Cooking in 2014

CLICK ABOVE TO PLAY MUSIC

Music – “New Year’s Resolution” from Codependent Christmas by The Therapy Sisters. Released: 2003

1) I resolve that I will read a recipe all the way through, twice, before starting to cook.

2) I resolve to limit myself to buying no more than ten (10) cookbooks a month. (last month I bought 28, but it was a slow month)

stack of books

3) I resolve to stop buying every new kitchen gadget, even though it looks cool and kitschy, especially if I don’t need it (Bed, Bath and Beyond, sorry!)drawer 2

4) I resolve to stop being sucked in by late-night infomercials flogging kitchen appliances (did I really need the NutriBullit Blender, which I’ve used all of 3 times this year?)

Ron Popeil, 'Salesman of the Century' on late-night infomercials.

Ron Popeil, ‘Salesman of the Century’ on late-night infomercials.

5) I resolve to use the microwave for more than just illuminating the top of my range. (Perhaps for storing extra cookbooks)

6) I resolve to make this the year that I stop my husband from putting garlic powder on EVERYTHING!

7) I resolve to stop buying more hot sauces (see my blog “From Acid Rain to Zulu Fire….we LOVE Hot Sauces“, posted on 12/05/2013) I currently have enough bottles of hot sauces to supply the local police with a 10 year supply of ingredients for making pepper spray.

More hot sauces in my pantry

8) I resolve to faithfully label everything I put into the freezer, so that there will be no more surprises (AKA, “Lunchbag Letdown”)freezer

9) I resolve to limit myself to buying no more than thirty (30) cookbooks a month (ignore resolution # 2)

10) I resolve to clean my kitchen cabinets and rid myself of the silicone muffin cups, which I despise (they were a gift, but the gifter lives in another country now, so I’m safe)

11) I resolve that I will stop structuring my entire life around the Food Network and similar shows (this one is really going to hard)

cooking shows

12) I resolve to go to a restaurant just once, to experience the thrills of molecular gastronomy (oops, ‘modernist cuisine”) and watch my food being enveloped in a cloud of liquid nitrogen
nitrogen

13) I resolve to learn more about being a “food snob“, so that I might converse intelligently with such persons and not embarrass myself by asking, after a meal, “Was it good for you?”

food snob

14) I resolve that I will learn how to make the cocktail with the world’s longest name: Krungthepmahanakhon Amornrattanakosin Mahintharayutthaya Mahadilokphop Noppharat Ratchathaniburirom Udomratchaniwetmahasathan Amonphiman
Awatansathit Sakkathattiyawitsanukamprasit

The signature cocktail at Qi Thai Grill in Williamsburg, Brooklyn is named after the ancient Thai name for “Bangkok” — making it the longest cocktail name to date. The first words in the name translate to: “The land of angels, the great city of immortality, various of divine gems.”

Cocktail "Krungthepmahanakhon Amornrattanakosin Mahintharayutthaya Mahadilokphop  Noppharat Ratchathaniburirom Udomratchaniwetmahasathan Amonphiman  Awatansathit Sakkathattiyawitsanukamprasit", from the Qi Thai Grill (photo courtesy of Qi Thai Grill)

Cocktail “Krungthepmahanakhon Amornrattanakosin Mahintharayutthaya Mahadilokphop
Noppharat Ratchathaniburirom Udomratchaniwetmahasathan Amonphiman
Awatansathit Sakkathattiyawitsanukamprasit”, from the Qi Thai Grill (photo courtesy of Qi Thai Grill)

15) I resolve to stop making resolutions I will never follow.


HAPPY NEW YEAR !

About vintagecookbookery

Cookbook lover and collector with a burgeoning collection of cookbooks. Reading and researching food trends, history of cooking techniques and technological advances in cooking, what we eat and why and cookbooks as reflectors of cultures is a fascination for me. As of November 7th, 2013, I hold the current Guinness World Record title for the largest collection of cookbooks: 2,970 at the official count on July 14th, 2013 (applaud now, thank you very much!) The current (unofficial) number is now 6,202. What next? More shelves!
This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Cooking, Cooking Technology, Eating, Food Fads, Food Trends, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

